Miriam’s Top 25: Part II

I’m posting on Friday this week, due to my upcoming (and well-deserved, if I do say so myself) long weekend. I have 5 more picture books for you and let me tell you that competition for these spots was fierce.

6. Dinosaur vs. Bedtime, by Bob Shea

This book compels me to read it when I see it. Our hero is a small but mighty dinosaur whose greatest joy is to wage war against the many obstacles in his path on a given day: a pile of leaves, a bowl of spaghetti, his parents’ friends’ legs, etc. At the end of it all he must confront his greatest foe: bedtime. Shea is a comic genius who has captured the essence of toddlerhood. This book has also become a bit of a meme here at the ELCSLPL, as in: “Dinosaur vs. Mean Library Patron… Dinosaur Wins!” Impossible not to read aloud.

7. I Wanna Iguana, by Karen Kaufman Orloff and David Catrow

“Epistolary picture book illustrated by David Catrow.” What more explanation could you need for this book’s place in my heart? The story, of sorts, is a series of letters between our young hero and his mother regarding the possibility of acquiring a pet iguana. A great book for any kid wanting a pet of any kind. Catrow is one of my favourite illustrators–his pencil crayon-ings are colourful and twisted and creepy and a bit… exotic? all at the same time. I would gladly fill my home with prints of his work.

8. A Sick Day for Amos McGee, by Philip C. Stead and Erin E. Stead

This is a new one to our collection, but I love love love it! Amos works at the zoo, playing games with his animal friends which he always allows them to win. When one day he is forced to stay home in bed, the animals come to his house… and let him win this time. This beautifully illustrated tale is funny and touching in equal parts.

9. L’Ours qui aimait les arbres, by Nicholas Oldland

This is one of my read-aloud favourites. Our hero is a ridiculously friendly bear who likes to give big bear hugs to everything in the forest, especially trees. One fateful day, his benevolent demeanor is tested by the arrival of a lumberjack. The story has lots of laughs, a sweet moral about not losing your temper, and is only too easy to read aloud.

10. Le coeur et la bouteille, by Oliver Jeffers

I love everything Oliver Jeffers does. We have, sadly and bizarrely, only one of his books in English, though he himself is Northern Irish. I had to flip a coin between this title and The Incredible Book Eating Boy, but this one won out because it touched me so when I read it. Le coeur et la bouteille is the story of a girl who puts her heart in a bottle following a tragedy in her life. Frankly, I think the rather symbolic story will resonate better with adults than children, but one of my favourite things about children’s literature is that it tends to be written equally for “inner children” and for actual ones.

Next week: short chapter books. A horrible/wonderful wrench has been thrown into my list, by the way: I received three new books this week which I have been impatiently waiting ages for. Two of them are short chapter books! Woe is me! Oh, the competition is so fierce…

About CSL Children's Department

The Eleanor London Côte Saint-Luc Public Library has a long tradition in the city. The library has many amazing features which includes a fantastic children's department. We thrive on providing the best service possible and making each library experience a positive one.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Illustrators, Picture books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

