Miriam’s Favourite Audiobooks

I am a reading addict. It makes me a pretty good student and librarian, but I literally sometimes get antsy if I go too long without something to read. Sad, I know. Happily, I have discovered audiobooks. They allow me to be reading while I walk, do the dishes, or clean my room. Below, a selection of the best I’ve “read” so far:

The Series of Unfortunate Events, by Lemony Snicket, read by Tim Curry

For those who don’t know who Tim Curry is, I pity you and exhort you to pick up this snortingly funny audiobook collection of one of my favourite series.

Leviathan, by Scott Westerfeld, read by Alan Cumming

This book and its author have a lot of fans in our library. The audiobook is just as good, and perhaps even better than the book (a rarity indeed!). Alan Cumming is, like dear Mr. Curry, an experienced and acclaimed British actor who has a gift for voices. The story features both Austrian soldiers and British and Scots airmen. Cumming nails every accent, every age, every gender. A joy to listen to.

The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman, read by Neil Gaiman

This spookily heartwarming tale is, as with much of Gaiman’s writing, part excitement and part philosophy, a combo that I find charming. It’s always nice to hear a book read by its author, and Gaiman is an excellent reader.

The Clockwork Angel, by Cassandra Clare, read by Jennifer Ehle

I also liked the Mortal Instruments audiobooks, but this one is SO much better than any of the previous three. Jennifer Ehle, who some of you might know as Elizabeth Bennett to Colin Firth’s Darcy, is a great reader, and switches easily between the American and British accents necessary for the book. I’m looking forward to listening to the new audiobook of City of Fallen Angels!

About CSL Children's Department

The Eleanor London Côte Saint-Luc Public Library has a long tradition in the city. The library has many amazing features which includes a fantastic children's department. We thrive on providing the best service possible and making each library experience a positive one.
This entry was posted in Audiobooks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

