Spotlight on Funny: Geektastic

Children’s Desk staffer Miriam is a big old geek and doesn’t care who knows it.

I’ve been on a bit of a Holly Black kick lately. I started out reading her latest, White Cat, which I lovedlovedloved, and then moved on to the Tithe-Valiant-Ironside trilogy, each of which I read in about 24 hours. (The trilogy, for those who don’t know, is about fairies and troubled teens, and White Cat is the start of a new series about curse working mobsters.) Being now out of novels to read, I have picked up a short story anthology which she edited with Cecil Castellucci, another YA author, called Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd. (It’s also one of Katie’s favourites, which is generally recommendation enough for me.) In addition to Holly and Cecil’s laugh-fest, “Once You’re a Jedi, You’re a Jedi All The Way,” the anthology includes stories by many of my/our favourite YA authors: Cassandra Clare (City of Bones), Scott Westerfeld (Uglies, Leviathan), my hero M. T. Anderson (Feed, The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing), and many more. So how am I liking the book? I’ve laughed, I’ve cried, it’s way better than CATS! and just as dorky.

So, put yourself on the wait list for it after me. Also, come in and read some books by the authors contained therein. Also, come in to the library and check out our display of hilarious books for all ages, in English and French. Also, come in to the library to read more short story compilations, of which we have many, by authors like Anthony Horowitz (Alex Rider series) or my other hero Robin McKinley (Beauty). Also, come in to the library to… chat with me about Star Wars. Or CATS!.

About CSL Children's Department

The Eleanor London Côte Saint-Luc Public Library has a long tradition in the city. The library has many amazing features which includes a fantastic children's department. We thrive on providing the best service possible and making each library experience a positive one.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, YA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

