Book Review: The Gift by James Patterson

The Gift by James Patterson is the second book in the series Witch and Wizard.   After escaping imprisonment by the totalitarian regime known as the New Order, siblings Wisty and Whit Allgood, who possess magical powers, establish themselves as leaders of the Resistance, a hidden community of teenagers like themselves, hunted by the state and determined to defy its ban on the arts, magic, and all other forms of creativity.

My thoughts:
I really enjoyed the first book in the series and was very excited to read this one when it came out.  Overall, the book was okay.  I got a little tired of Wisty’s portion of the story as she gets pretty annoying throughout the book.  I much prefer Whit’s story.  I should probably explain here by what I mean by their stories.  The author alternates between the two characters and their version of how events transpire.  Usually I like this technique but I found it was getting annoying.  The story has so much potential but I feel it is quickly derailing and I don’t know if I will read the next one when it comes out.  My advice? Read with caution.  I would definitely recommend the Maximum Ride series by the same author over this series.

About CSL Children's Department

The Eleanor London Côte Saint-Luc Public Library has a long tradition in the city. The library has many amazing features which includes a fantastic children's department. We thrive on providing the best service possible and making each library experience a positive one.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review: The Gift by James Patterson

  1. Pingback: Top Selling Fiction » Blog Archive » Book Review: The Gift by James Patterson | CSL Childrens …

  2. Pingback: Top Selling Fiction » Blog Archive » Book Review: The Gift by James Patterson | CSL Childrens …

  3. Pingback: Top Selling Fiction » Blog Archive » Book Review: The Gift by James Patterson | CSL Childrens …

  4. Pingback: Top Selling Fiction » Blog Archive » Book Review: The Gift by James Patterson | CSL Childrens …

Leave a Reply

