Book or Movie?

Over the past year, there has been an overwhelming increase of movies that have been adapted from books.  I have always been a nay-sayer to these movies simply because they cannot add every element of the book into a movie and they end up cutting characters out as well.
Since I am a children’s librarian, I read a lot of juvenile chapter books and teen books.  I also have kids who are desperate to watch all these movies – Lightning Thief, Twilight, How to Train your Dragon, breaker and Nick and Nora’s Playlist (which I really enjoyed – surprisingly).  I try to keep my mouth shut, attempting not to say “but that did not happen in the book” and “why have they merged 2 characters into 1?”  I tend to get shunned from watching these movies with family members because I cannot control my outrage.
I am somewhat anxious to see I am Number Four but I know that I will be horribly disappointed.
Maybe I should see the movie first and appreciate the book after?

About CSL Children's Department

The Eleanor London Côte Saint-Luc Public Library has a long tradition in the city. The library has many amazing features which includes a fantastic children's department. We thrive on providing the best service possible and making each library experience a positive one.
This entry was posted in Chapter books, DVD, YA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

