Teen reads that adults love

After talking to a lot of adults and reading lots of blogs, I have come to the conclusion that a lot of adults are turning to teen books.  Why?  I don’t have a definite answer to this but some of the comments that I have heard from co-workers and friends is that: “the books are well written”; “the stories have an interesting theme”; “the book was so good that I could not put it down”.  Personally, I have been reading teen books for a long time – mostly because it is part of my job to know which books to recommend or at least talk about to the teens in the department but also because I really do enjoy them.  I cannot begin to tell you how desperate I am to read Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins.  It comes out tomorrow and may I say that it has been a long year waiting for this books.  I have re-read the other 2 books in anticipation for this one.  I am being a great parent by bringing my daughter to the party at Chapter’s tonight but let’s be honest here… it is more for me than for her.  At midnight, I will have the book in my hands and I will be reading it the minute I get home.  So, here are a few books that may be of interest to an adult reader (feel free to comment on the blog and leave your choices too) –
1.  The Hunger Games Trilogy – Suzanne Collins
2.  If I Stay – Gayle Foreman
3.  Wicked Lovely Series – Melissa Marr
4.  The Book Thief – Markus Zusak
5.  The Giver – Lois Lowry
6.  The complete series of Harry Potter – J.K. Rowling
7.  Thirteen reasons why – Jay Asher
8.  Shiver – Maggie Stiefvater
9.  Streams of Babel – Carol Plum Ucci
10.  The Max Series – James Patterson

I could go on and on but I do have to stop somewhere …..

About CSL Children's Department

The Eleanor London Côte Saint-Luc Public Library has a long tradition in the city. The library has many amazing features which includes a fantastic children's department. We thrive on providing the best service possible and making each library experience a positive one.
This entry was posted in YA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

