Book Review: The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher by Dana Levy

FletcherLast fall, I had read some reviews that promoted The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher, a middle grade novel by Dana Alison Levy, as a fun and worthwhile read. I considered taking it out, but it wasn’t until a patron (who reads many middle grade novels and picture books with her two sons) told me how much her family liked the book that I actually took it out and found out for myself. I am so glad I did, and I’m sure that if you give the family Fletcher a try, you will, like me, wish the book would never end.

The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher reminded me of classic family stories (a sentiment shared by author Bruce Coville), but the family Fletcher is thoroughly modern, consisting of two dads and four adopted sons of different backgrounds. This school year, the sporty family is facing a new challenge: a grumpy neighbour who doesn’t like the noisy and gregarious family next-door. On top of the unfriendly Mr. Nelson, each of the boys faces different school-year challenges. Sam, the oldest and a soccer fanatic, is determined to make the elite team this year. Jax, new to the upper elementary school, wants to fit in and be cool. Eli is sure he’s going to love his new academically-oriented school, and Frog (also known as Jeremiah), is starting kindergarten and eager to make new friends. But nothing goes exactly as expected for these brothers.

This is a heartwarming real-life story that blends humour, heart and silliness in perfect ratios. The characters are unique and memorable, with individual quirks and personalities that make them stick with you long after you turn the last page. Every time I would read about one of the brothers, I was convinced that he was my favourite, and I realized at the very end that the whole family was my favourite. I loved their interactions and their camaraderie, and as someone with siblings myself, I also enjoyed the disagreements and sibling politics that cropped up!

When I finished the book, I was reminded of the rollicking fun of the Steve Martin Cheaper by the Dozen movies, which is a compliment because those movies still make me smile. The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher is a novel full of wonderfully funny shenanigans, and you won’t be able to resist sharing it with those you love!

Happy reading!

-Valerie

Posted in Book Reviews, Chapter books | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

New on DVD!

For something a little bit different, we have some great new additions to our DVD collection. These are only a sampling of many new movies coming in, so check back with us often: we also have a growing selection of Blu-Rays available in the department. Here are some of our fun new arrivals!

Book of LifeThe Book of Life

The journey of Manolo, a young man who is torn between fulfilling the expectations of his family and following his heart. Before choosing which path to follow, he embarks on an incredible adventure that spans three fantastical worlds where he must face his greatest fears.

The_Boxtrolls_posterBoxtrolls

A community of quirky, mischievous creatures who have lovingly raised an orphaned human boy named Eggs in the amazing cavernous home they’ve built beneath the streets of Cheesebridge. When the town’s villain, Archibald Snatcher, comes up with a plot to get rid of the Boxtrolls, Eggs decides to venture above ground, ‘into the light,’ where he meets and teams up with fabulously feisty Winnie. Together, they devise a daring plan to save Eggs’ family.

The-Tale-of-Princess-Kaguya-posterThe Tale of Princess Kaguya

Found inside a shining stalk of bamboo an old bamboo cutter and his wife, a tiny girl grows rapidly into an exquisite young lady. The mysterious young princess enthralls all who encounter her, but ultimately she must confront her fate, the punishment for her crime.

How to Train Your Dragon 2How to Train Your Dragon 2

While Astrid, Snotlout and the rest of the gang are challenging each other to dragon races, Hiccup and Toothless journey through the skies, charting unmapped territories and exploring new worlds. When one of their adventures leads to the discovery of a secret ice cave that is home to hundreds of new wild dragons and the mysterious Dragon Rider, the two friends find themselves at the center of a battle to protect the peace.

Avatar-The-legend-of-korra-book-2-spirits-largeThe Legend of Korra

Korra and Team Avatar embark on a new journey deep into the mythology of the mystical Spirit World, encountering creatures like nothing they’ve seen before and discovering the truth about the very first Avatar! With a battle for the fate of the world between the light and dark spirits Raava and Vaatu fast approaching, Korra delves deeper into the Avatar’s past and realizes what she must do in order to restore balance between the physical and spirit worlds.

Sleeping-BeautySleeping Beauty

Maleficent, one of animation’s most spectacular villains, sends the kingdom’s beloved Princess Aurora into an enchanted sleep. In a majestic story that awakens all your senses, Good Fairies arm brave Prince Phillip to defeat a fearsome fire-breathing dragon and rescue Aurora. But success in battle may not be enough, for the only way to awaken the Princess is with true love’s kiss!

Posted in DVD | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Awesome Picture Book: Please, Mr Panda by Steve Antony

pandaThere are certain storytime themes that are always big hits, in our library and in countless others. I realized after our family storytime last week that while bear storytimes are popular and used fairly often, there is one bear in particular who hasn’t received as much attention as his distant relatives: the panda bear. To wrap up our winter stories, we read four different panda-themed adventures, my favourite of which is the new Please, Mr Panda by Steve Antony.

The book opens with an adorable panda holding out a box of donuts and asking a simple question: “Would you like a doughnut?” What follows is a fantastic picture book with amazing illustrations of a wide range of less-than-polite animals. Poor Mr Panda gets increasingly irate, declaring, “No, you cannot have a doughnut. I have changed my mind.” Will he be able to find anyone with whom he can share his sugary treats?

With bright illustrations that take up the page and spark your imagination, and a panda whose simple expression speaks volumes, this picture book is cute and also delivers an important lesson all kids eventually learn: manners are important! With minimal text, this book makes quite an impact, and is fun to read even after you’ve learned your lesson. It’s also a great interactive book. We had a lot of fun at storytime naming all the animals the panda meets, and I got quite a kick out of listening to the children try to figure out why the panda kept changing his mind.

If you want a peek, check out the book trailer:

<iframe width=”956″ height=”537″ src=”https://www.youtube.com/embed/lZ1Ql8TdBQI&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

Happy reading!

-Valerie

Posted in Book Reviews, Picture books | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Favourite: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Jacket.aspxI have read a few books lately that I’ve really fallen for, but Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe tops my list of recent reads. This is a quiet, beautifully written story about friendship that was so absorbing that I sat down and read it cover to cover.

Fifteen-year-old Aristotle is a loner. Although is family is loving and supportive, his parents and his sister have their own demons to struggle with, including the incarceration of Ari’s older brother, the after-effects of the Vietnam war. As summer approaches, Ari kicks around aimlessly. Miserably, he admits that “it was better to be bored by yourself than to be bored with someone else. I pretty much lived by that rule. Maybe that’s why I didn’t have any friends.” When he meets Dante at the pool, he is struck by the Dante’s oddness, but he immediately feels an affinity with the other boy, who is in some ways his opposite: open, optimistic, and friendly. Both teens are Mexican-American, and are dealing with not only their identities as people, but how they fit within their heritage, within their families, and in their social circles (or lack thereof).

The two boys become friends almost instantly, and Ari discovers that being close with someone isn’t boring at all: he has conversations with Dante about things that he’s never been able to discuss with anyone, and he finds that friendship doesn’t need to be exciting all the time to make him feel happier. Just as Aristotle is opening up to the world, an accident happens that threatens the bond between the two boys. Despite the relaxed pacing of this book–mirroring the real feeling of a lazy summer–a lot happens to the best friends.

Aristotle and Dante have a lot of obstacles to overcome in their own lives and they certainly haven’t neatly solved all of their problems in the end, but this book is ultimately heartwarming and optimistic. Benjamin Alire Sáenz’s simple, direct writing style feels like the genuine voice of his hero, Ari. For me, the tone of this book was reminiscent of novels like Holly Goldberg Sloan’s Counting by 7s and Sherman Alexie’s The Absolutely True Diary of A Part-Time Indian, among many other personal favourites. It is also been billed as a read-alike for John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars. Although there is a bit of romance, it is not the focal point of the story: instead, it was the unbreakable friendship of Aristotle and Dante that had me in happy tears by the end.

Enjoy!

Bronwen

 

Posted in Book Reviews, Favorites, Teen Reads, YA | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Upcoming Program: The Story of Babar

Story-of-Babar-JM_500pxThe Children’s Department is pleased to announce our March WOW! The Story of Babar. Taking place March 1 at 3 pm, this live performance and storytelling event is great for the whole family. While it is aimed at children between the ages of 3 and 7, all Babar fans will have a fun time.

The program, produced by Jeunesse Musicale, will present Babar’s adventures. It will be set to music and narrated by a talented actress. This an event you won’t want to miss out on.

Watch the video below to get an idea of what the concert is like. Our performance will be in English, but French text is available as well.

 

Tickets are $5 and on sale now and available at the main desk of the library.

 

Posted in Programs | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Book Review: How to Outrun a Crocodile When your Shoes Are Untied by Jess Keating

how to outrunAfter reading a review of How to Outrun a Crocodile When your Shoes Are Untied that stated the novel was a “fun-filled, pitch-perfect book about one of the most fraught stages of life” (Kirkus Reviews), I decided to give it a try. I love true-to-life stories when they are done right, and I was hoping to add it to my long list of middle-grade reads that I can freely recommend. While it didn’t make it to my very exclusive “favourites” list – when you read as much as I do, the favourites can pile up if you aren’t exacting with your criteria – I really enjoyed it and think it will almost certainly find an audience of readers who are clamouring for more.

Ana Wright, named after the anaconda (much to her shame), is having a difficult twelfth year. Her best – and perhaps only – friend,  has just moved away to New Zealand, and Ana doesn’t like the idea of making new friends. Not only that, but she doesn’t know how to go about it! To top it off, she keeps getting picked on by some girls at school (a group she nicknamed the Sneerers), and she just found out she is going to have to live in the zoo where her parents work. Ana wishes she could just fade into the background, but circumstances keep making it so that she is the centre of attention. Can she find a way to get comfortable in her own skin? Or is she doomed to have a mortifying middle grade?

How to Outrun a Crocodile When your Shoes Are Untied is a great example of realistic juvenile fiction. Ana has a wonderful sense of humour, as evidenced in the “Creature File” blurbs she writes about her classmates, but she gets uncomfortable when too much attention is on her; that discomfort only makes things worse, and she ends up in some pretty embarrassing situations. Over the course of the book, Ana has to make new friends, get comfortable with public speaking, and figure out how to handle some not-so-nice peers. It’s a fun read, with some surprises and great details about animals and middle grade politics. I found Ana’s embarrassment really compelling. In one scene, her parents visit her school to talk about what they do for a living; Ana sits in class, sinking deeper into her chair, convinced that everyone is laughing at her parents. She can’t figure out why they don’t see that the students are making fun of them. Ana’s humiliation in palpable, but as a reader, you kind of wonder if maybe it’s all in Ana’s head, a detail I found wonderfully realistic. Ana is crippled by her fear of being laughed at, and it makes her see everything from a skewed perspective.

This was a breeze to read and a lot of fun. While Ana is the main character, her twin brother Daz is also an important part of the book and a nice counterpoint to the very sensitive lead. The second book about Ana and her family will be arriving in the near future, so if you like How to Outrun a Crocodile, know there will be more adventures coming soon.

Happy reading!

-Valerie

 

Posted in Book Reviews, Chapter books | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Parenting Program: Children’s Sleep 101

Children's-Sleep-101_500px (1)Our first parenting program of the new year is coming up. Taking place February 10 at 7 pm, this free program is of interest to anyone who has young children. Dr Shirley Blaichman, a pediatrician and member of the Canadian Peadiatric Society’s Public Education Committee, has years of experience helping parents understand their children’s general health, including the always-complicated issues that come with sleep and sleep habits.

At this free program, parents will get the benefit of Dr Blaichman’s advice and tips. The session will focus on younger children, from newborns to preschoolers, and will have hands-on tips and guidelines to help parents figure out how best to manage their child’s sleep. This is a must-attend program for anyone with young children, and we hope to see you there!

If you are interested in attending, you can call 514-485-6900 ext 4111 to reserve your spot today.

 

Posted in Parenting, Programs | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Awesome Picture Book : The Most Magnificent Thing by Ashley Spires

The Most Magnificent ThingI’m a big fan of Ashley Spires: her quirky, adorable illustrations perfectly match her multi-faceted, amusing, and relatable characters. Her new picture book, The Most Magnificent Thing, is an ode to perseverance and resilience, and it’s as sweet and fun as her plethora of other awesome books for young readers.

This picture book stars a “regular girl” and her doggie sidekick, who also happens to be her “best friend in the whole wide world.” They do a lot of making and unmaking together, until “one day, the girl has a wonderful idea. She is going to make the most MAGNIFICENT thing!” The illustrations will keep young listeners guessing as the girl plots, plans, and begins to build her magnificent thing. Of course, things don’t go exactly as she had hoped, and she ends up with a whole lot of objects that are not quite right. After hours of work, her frustration gets the better of her and she becomes quite furious and decides to “quit.” When she comes back to her project after a walk with her dog, things are looking a whole lot rosier. She begins to notice that her failed experiments weren’t really such failures after all, and she finally sees her magnificent thing through–with great results.

Even for the youngest audience, trying and failing might be familiar, and the little girl’s story is one that we’ve all experienced at one point or another. Although the heroine gains quite a crowd of admirers for her tenacity, she still needs to take a break. Her focus on getting things right proves both frustrating and rewarding, though, when she finally completes her project. The idea that failure can lead to success is a really important one, and a hard thing to grasp in the throes of trying to do something difficult. Ashley Spires has captured something universal here; her “regular girl” shows us the trick to realizing one’s vision even when things get tough. It’s a lesson that I find myself learning time and again, and this is the sort of book that illustrates it in an expressive and accessible way. The little girl gets what she wanted through hard work and extraordinary creativity, and shows us that although creating isn’t always “easy-peasy,” it can be totally worth it. What a magnificent book!

Enjoy!

Bronwen

Posted in Book Reviews, Favorites, Illustrators, New Books, Picture books | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Valerie’s Most Anticipated for 2015

At the start of every year, I try to scope out the upcoming books that I am most excited about. Last year, I eagerly waited for Just One YearSam and Dave Dig a Hole, and Death by Toilet Paper, and all of those titles lived up to my expectations. As I stare down at the cold coming months, I can point to so many books that I am itching to get my hands on. Here are just a few that you will also hopefully look forward to; after all, when we are in full winter swing, books can be the best distraction!

WolfieWolfie the Bunny
by Amy Dyckman

I loved Boy + Bot, and this story of a wolf adopted by a bunny family sounds absolutely adorable. I anticipate great illustrations from the awesome Zachariah Ohora and an “awww”-worthy story.

Here’s the publisher’s blurb:

“The Bunny family has adopted a wolf son, and daughter Dot is the only one who realizes Wolfie can–and might–eat them all up! Dot tries to get through to her parents, but they are too smitten to listen. A new brother takes getting used to, and when (in a twist of fate) it’s Wolfie who’s threatened, can Dot save the day?”

yetiYeti and the Bird
by Nadia Shireen

This looks like it will be a very cute tale about unexpected friendship. I also happen to love Yeti stories, so I was a bit smitten just by the title.

Here’s the publisher’s blurb:

“Deep in the forest lives the biggest, hairiest, scariest yeti anyone has ever seen. And he is also the loneliest yeti around. Then one day…THUNK! Someone lands on Yeti’s head. And that someone isn’t scared of Yeti at all. Could that someone be a friend?”

We Are AllWe Are All Made of Molecules
by Susin Nielsen

All of her previous books have brought tears to my eyes, and I think she is an amazing and funny author. All this means I have very high expectations!

Here’s the publisher’s blurb:

“Thirteen-year-old Stewart is academically brilliant, but socially clueless. Fourteen-year-old Ashley is the undisputed “It” girl in her grade, but her marks stink. Their worlds are about to collide when Stewart and his dad move in with Ashley and her mom. The Brady Bunch it isn’t. Stewart is trying to be 89.9% happy about it, but Ashley is 110% horrified. She already has to hide the real reason her dad moved out; ‘Spewart’ could further threaten her position at the top of the social ladder. They are complete opposites. And yet, no matter their differences, they share one thing in common: They – like the rest of us – are all made of molecules.”

black doveBlack Dove, White Raven
by Elizabeth Wein

Elizabeth Wein has written two fantastic historical novels that pulled at my heart and made me cheer. She wrote one of my all time favourites, Code Name Verity, and so the prospect of another novel about daring pilots has me very happy.

Here’s the publisher’s blurb:

“Rhoda and Delia are American stunt pilots who perform daring aerobatics to appreciative audiences. But while the sight of two girls wingwalking – one white, one black – is a welcome novelty in some parts of the USA, it’s an anathema in others. When Delia is killed in a tragic accident, Rhoda moves to Ethiopia with her daughter, Em, and Delia’s son, Teo. Em and Teo have adapted to scratching a living in a strange land, and feel at home here; but their parents’ legacy of flight and the ability to pilot a plane places them in an elite circle of people watched carefully by the Ethiopian emperor, Haile Selassie, who dreams of creating an air force for his fledgling nation. As Italy prepares for its invasion of Ethiopia, Em and Teo find themselves inextricably entangled in the crisis – and they are called on to help.”

What books are you most excited about in the coming year?

Posted in Chapter books, Picture books, YA | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Critical Favourites: “Best Of” 2014 in P, J, and YA

“Best Of” lists are some of my favourite things this time of year. I will inevitably read a great book too late to add it to my own yearly list (it just happened with Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future). This is why I’m always grateful for the word of book experts and enthusiasts like the folks at Kirkus and School Library Journal, who always provide stellar book lists for every age. A good chunk of Valerie’s or my favourites made it onto these lists, so I’ll give some other books in our collection the chance to shine. Some of these are brand new arrivals or are on their way. Reserve or come check them out today!

Picture Books (P)

The mermaid and the shoe by K.G. Campbell
Share by Sally Anne Garland
Shoe Dog by Megan McDonald ; pictures by Katherine Tillotson
Blizzard by John Rocco
Three Bears in a Boat by David Soman
Sebastian and the Balloon by Philip C. Stead
Any Questions?  written and illustrated by Marie-Louise Gay
The Baby Tree  by Sophie Blackall

Middle-Grade Fiction (J) 


The forbidden stone
by Tony Abbott
Jasper John Dooley: Not in Love  by Caroline Adderson ; illustrated by Ben Clanton
Hidden : a Child’s Story of the Holocaust written by Loïc Dauvillier ; illustrated by Marc Lizano ; color by Greg Salsedo ; translated by Alexis Siege
The Key that Swallowed Joey Pigza by Jack Gantos
The Glass Sentence  by S.E. Grove
Odd, Weird & Little by Patrick Jennings
The Great Greene Heist by Varian Johnson
Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee
Sisters by Raina Telgemeier ; with color by Braden Lamb
Fly Away  by Patricia MacLachlan

 Young Adult Fiction (YA) 

Death Sworn by Leah Cypess
Afterworlds
by Scott Westerfeld
Belzhar  
by Meg Wolitzer
Grasshopper Jungle : A History
 by Andrew Smith.
We Were Liars
 by E. Lockhart
To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
by Jenny Han
Girl Defective
 by Simmone Howell
The Tyrant’s Daughter
 by J.C. Carleson
The Story of Owen : Dragon Slayer of Trondheim
by E. K. Johnston
The Family Romanov : Murder, Rebellion & the Fall of Imperial Russia 
by Candace Fleming

We also have plenty of award-winners for all ages here at the library. Here are some past and current winners for P, J, and YA.

Enjoy!

Bronwen

Posted in Chapter books, Favorites, Hidden Gems, New Books, Non-Fiction, Picture books, Teen Reads, YA | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment